Me and My Nine Iron

March 10, 2010

Senate extends jobless aid (again)


The Hurt Locker was the big winner Sunday, winning six of its nine Oscar nominations (the same as my Oscar picks), including Best Picture and Best Director (Kathryn Bigelow). It’s funny it got mixed reviews from U.S. troops, but I guess it should be expected that the movie will glorify and inaccurately highlight every aspect of the job. They should really re-release Best Picture films so that people can actually watch it.

I went snowboarding Monday at Mountain High and realized that I’m not a little kid anymore, if I didn’t admit it before. I’m not going to go so far as to say, as is often loosely said, that “I’m too old now,” but the bottom line is that 1) every time I gained a little speed, I thought to myself that I should probably slow down and 2) I felt the toll being taken from every fall. Like a running back taking a little bit longer to get up after every carry, I eventually tapped out after five hours on the slopes. This after purple knees, a sore ass, massive headaches and broken shades. I had fun though, and I’m looking forward to my Mammoth weekend trip at the end of the month.

Oh, and I saw in the news yesterday that two boneheads who decided to board out of bounds went missing for about 15 hours overnight, as temperatures dropped to 1 below zero. They seemed so ungrateful during their TV interview that the helicopter rescue should’ve just left them there.

The Senate passed a bill Wednesday that will provide unemployment benefits for up to 99 weeks in many states. That’s almost two years of being able to sit on your ass and receive checks from our debt-ridden government.

I was reading this article about a local homeless man who lost his six-figure job 19 months ago, and it was clear this guy wasn’t even trying. It suddenly popped in my head how many things this guy should’ve sold a long time ago or stop doing if he wants people to start feeling sorry for him. Here’s my list.

  1. Home in Newport Beach
  2. Golf clubs
  3. HDTV
  4. 375-bottle wine collection
  5. BMW
  6. Dry-cleaning shirts

He said it: “I’m not going to claim I was cheated out of my house. I didn’t pay my mortgage.” The moral of the story is don’t feel sorry for everybody.

BJ

2 Comments »

  1. Interesting idea, though states need to match its budget unlike the federal government, so I can’t see them taking on unemployment aid in today’s times.

    I agree that a lot of people are content and not desperate until the wane of their unemployment aid, and so this just extends their contentable state and lack of desperation for almost another year. I’m with you on the debate over the period allowed to collect. 12, 6, I don’t know. Certainly not 23 months.

    Comment by Bryan — March 11, 2010 @ 12:34 pm | Reply

  2. You need a safety net like this, though. In my opinion, what’s up for debate is how long you should be allowed to collect checks; 12 months? 6? It’s not like you can get the average time spent on unemployment and use that as a baseline. Who’s to say that they wouldn’t have gotten a job or settled for a job if they knew their unemployment was going to run out?

    And maybe unemployment checks should be cut by the states? I don’t know, man. I just don’t know.

    Comment by James — March 10, 2010 @ 5:05 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

