Me and My Nine Iron

June 24, 2010

Movie reviews


I feel like I’ve been going to my local two-dollar theater every night to catch up on the latest flicks, and fortunately, this latest batch was a pretty good one.

Blades of Blood

My dad asked me to go watch this Korean film with him, which was playing at our local AMC theater, so obviously, I had my reservations. You’ll be hard-pressed to find any information about this movie online, and it wouldn’t even show up on movies.com, even though it appears in the AMC theater on that site. Anyway, am I glad I went.

It’s a period drama about the 16th-century Japanese invasion of South Korea, and the internal turmoil arising from the invasion. The leader of the Grand Alliance, the organized rebellion group, seeks to uproot the Korean government secretly to become king while a blind man takes in a concubine’s son, whose father was killed by this leader, with the two sharing something in common – wanting to kill the leader of the Grand Alliance.

A perfect balance of comedic moments between the two lead characters and gruesome sword stabbings, this is Korean cinema at its finest, and a refreshing departure from American special-effects laden movies. Check out this film if you’re looking for a good foreign flick.

Rating: 4 stars out of 4

Date Night

Classic, awkward, straight-edged Steve Carell at his finest. Not to be outdone by his supporting cast, which included Mark Wahlberg, Common, James Franco, Mila Kunis, Leighton Meester (who was prettier than on Gossip Girl), Kristen Wiig and his wife in the movie, Tina Fey.

Two knocks on this movie. The first being that it was about 84 minutes long. There should be a rule where you shouldn’t be charged full price for anything under 90 minutes – credits not included. It didn’t seem short, but the bottom line is it was. The second knock was an awkward strip club scene that went on pretty long. I’ve developed a theory that strip club scenes are never good and decided to avoid one in my own screenplay.

Rating: 3 stars out of 4

Diary of a Wimpy Kid

I thought this movie had an awesome synopsis, and I wanted to see it, but I was kind of turned off by the kid (not that I usually get turned on by boys) and the movie posters. I’m glad I saw this movie. It did unusually well for a movie not heavily advertised ($64 million) and had an awesome morality tale about how karmic justice will catch up with you and strike down upon thee with great vengeance if you’re an egotistical asshole like 11-year-old Greg Heffley is.

Similar to How to Eat Fried Worms, it’s a movie made out of a kids book that adults would also find enjoyable, and I’m looking forward to the sequel, Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2: Rodrick Rules, which should come out next year. Also starring Rachael Harris (the bitch in The Hangover) and Chloe Moretz (Kick-Ass).

Rating: 4 stars out of 4

Hot Tub Time Machine

A comedic story of the butterfly effect, if you can get over the ridiculousness of the title actually happening in the movie (and it is that ridiculous), you’ll be entertained throughout. It’s nice to hear nice-guy John Cusack dropping F-bombs, and also offers a morose reflection on male friends growing apart through the years. Also starring Clark Duke (Kick-Ass) and Lyndsy Fonseca (Kick-Ass).

Rating: 3 stars out of 4

Kick-Ass

As hot as Lyndsy Fonseca is, like one of the characters in the movie says, “I think I’m in love [with Chloe Moretz]…I’m going to save myself.” There might be nothing better than hearing an 11-year-old girl say “cocks,” “cunts” and “fuck” while killing bad guys violently. But if you couldn’t tell of the Kick-Ass buildup I was brewing, this movie blew me out of the water. Easily the best movie in this batch, if not this year, there are tons of gruesome violence depicted in a satirical comic book movie so is anyone surprised Roger Ebert gave this movie one out of four stars?

I’m interested to see the 18 minutes of deleted footage on DVD, which comes out on August 3, and if anyone knows how exclusive my DVD collection is, the last one I picked up is The Hangover. Legendary comic book writer Mark Millar began writing a comic book sequel in April with the hopes to release Kick-Ass 2: Balls to the Wall in 2012. Also starring Christopher Mintz-Plasse and Nicolas Cage and co-produced by Brad Pitt.

Rating: 4 stars out of 4

And I’ll leave you like Kick-Ass left movie-goers with the song in the ending credits. The Pretty Reckless, fronted by 16-year-old Taylor Momsen (Gossip Girl), with their debut single, “Make Me Wanna Die.”

BJ

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks, Chris! I wish I could share more, but I’m not about to publish a bunch of ideas and specifics in an open blog.

    Comment by Bryan — June 25, 2010 @ 1:25 pm | Reply

  2. I was so glad to see Nick Cage in a quality movie doing a quality acting job. Cage was a highlight – along with Fonseca.

    San Jose needs a two-dollar theater. The only one in the area closed two years ago. It was a sad day.

    And I love the insight into your own screenplay!

    Comment by Chris Le — June 25, 2010 @ 1:48 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

