Me and My Nine Iron

June 27, 2010

The Stinking Rose review

Filed under: Food reviews — BJ @ 10:40 pm
Tags:

I actually went to The Stinking Rose last Saturday, only to have the power go out on La Cienega Blvd. minutes before our arrival. We left after a half hour’s wait, and a $5 valet for nothing but made it back this weekend with no problems. I asked a handful of people beforehand how this restaurant was, and I couldn’t find a single person who absolutely loved the place. Still, I didn’t let that deter me in my excitement to try a garlic-themed restaurant.

For appetizer, we ordered Garlic Soaking in a Hot Tub ($4.95) and a small order of Garlic French Fries ($4.95). A great course made better with reasonable prices. The garlic in the skillet was very well-cooked and went well with the complimentary focaccia bread. The fries were delicious too.

For our main meal, most of us decided to go with the garlic roasted prime rib, which comes in a 12-oz. Regular ($29.95), 16-oz. Large Cut ($34.95) or 20-oz. The Slab ($39.95). I got greedy and went for the Large Cut, which I couldn’t finish. I didn’t taste the garlic roast at all, and there were exactly five cloves of garlic resting on top of the prime rib, which came with garlic mashed potatoes and creamed spinach. But, I have no knock on the beef and found it comparable to Lawry’s Restaurant (gasp!), in my eyes.

My brother-in-law had a medium order of Garlic Steamed Clams ($24.95) and was generously bestowed with over forty clams while my parents only had good things to say about the crab and prime rib.

We had a great dining experience and surprisingly, weren’t overwhelmed with garlic (or so we thought) upon our exit. The bill came out to $45 per person including tip and valet, and I’ll be the first to say that this place was above satisfactory.

Rating: 4 stars out of 4

BJ

1 Comment »

  1. Hyung loves this place.

    Man, I can’t wait for Vegas. It’s gonna feast … for all the senses.

    Comment by Chris Le — June 28, 2010 @ 8:59 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

