Me and My Nine Iron

September 6, 2010

Fast food review

Filed under: Food reviews — BJ @ 3:01 pm
Tags:

Today’s edition of Fast Food Review is dedicated to Carl’s Jr.’s new Philly Cheesesteak Burger, which is essentially a Philly Cheesesteak on burger buns (something the Vito’s in their commercial doesn’t do). The combo with small fries and a small drink goes for $6.57 so save a dollar with this coupon off their website that I didn’t use. (Did you know that you don’t save any money with Carl’s Jr. combos than if you ordered the fries and drink separately? Correct me if I’m wrong, but McDonald’s will save you some change. I thought that was pretty lame.)

First impression: I see all the ingredients of a Philly Cheesesteak in the burger. Looks dark and like you might taste barbeque sauce from the color. Decent size.

First bite: Every bite initially is a little off. I don’t know what it tastes like, but I know it’s not good. Every bite. After that first second of chewing though, then you get the Philly Cheesesteak that you’re accustomed to. There’s a lot of meat because they still add the beef patty in addition to the steak, which is good for us meat lovers. The sauteed green bell peppers and onions are delish, too.

Verdict: I was very satisfied with the portion. I spent good money on a nice burger combo, and I got what I paid for. Generally, Carl’s Jr. burgers are likely better than the burgers you would find at Jack in the Box, and this is just another example, as I’d get this over the cheaper Really Big Chicken Sandwich Combo in my recent review.

I forgot to mention that when I went in to Carl’s Jr., I couldn’t find the Philly Cheesesteak Burger anywhere – not on their menu nor on any pictures anywhere. I thought that was most bizarre, and I had to ask the cashier if they had it there.

BJ

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

