Me and My Nine Iron

October 18, 2010

Getting strapped

Filed under: For your pleasure — BJ @ 3:46 pm

As if my last post foreshadowed things to come, that very afternoon the “‘hood” got jacked.

A couple of weeks ago, a patrol car sped over to me as I went out to get my mail one day. Inside were two older men in casual police wear – comparable to Thomas Lennon‘s short shorts from Reno 911! Okay, maybe without the short shorts. They told me they’ve been seeing a rise in petty theft in the area-from burglaries and items being jacked from cars-and to alert the neighbors. As the car drove away, the rear window had a sign which read, “Out of Service.”

I went to my neighbor’s house to chat for a few minutes, and the first thing I said was, “Look at that dog. He gone.” Or something like that. The important thing is that this tiny pomeranian just turned the corner and proceeded to go down the hill, with no one in sight. After ten minutes, we both ended up going out at the same time; him just before me.

When I had got back from my errand, I found my neighbor already back and steaming mad. It turns out as he drove off in front of me, he witnessed a burglary in progress. Our neighbor, who we had just talked with a few days earlier and who had just gone on vacation (coincidence, anyone?) had people running out his front door with a TV; heavy-duty screws removed from his front door, we later found out.

My neighbor singlehandedly chases after these four terrified scumbags, only to have them get away. He called Fullerton PD to file a report, and it took well over half an hour for an officer to report to the scene. Upon his second calling, the woman replied, “All of our officers are busy at the moment.” [Insert cop joke here.] Oh, and guess who the cute little dog belonged to.

Yesterday, my other neighbor got his cell phone stolen from his car while he was working out at the gym. And he hardly seemed surprised, knowing that it was prevalent at that gym parking lot. Is that what the fucking O.C. ‘burbs have come to? And if the 24 knew about it, as a paying member, I’d be pissed there isn’t effective security in the lots. Hell, the security guys at Korean supermarkets retrieve carts from the parking lots. 24 can surely pay some change to prevent obvious window smashings in the middle of the day.

It was only a matter of time before the crime started hitting home. And now that it has, this means war. We’ll be waiting…

BJ

1 Comment »

  1. […] BJ пишет: Inside were two older men in casual police wear – comparable to Thomas Lennon’s short shorts from Reno 911! Okay, maybe without the short shorts. They told me they’ve been seeing a rise in petty theft in the area-from burglaries and … […]

    Pingback by томас леннон « Эхо блогосферы — October 19, 2010 @ 10:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

