Me and My Nine Iron

December 7, 2010

GM test drive

Filed under: For your pleasure — BJ @ 5:49 pm
Tags: ,

As I mentioned a few months ago, car companies are in full swing to release the new year’s models. On Sunday, I went to Santa Anita Race Track to partake in GM’s annual Main Street in Motion, a weekend event where you can test drive 2011 cars from Chevrolet, Buick and GMC against all of its comparables for free. That’s right, they also have cars from Ford, Honda, Nissan, Toyota, Acura, Lexus, Volkswagen, Lincoln and Dodge.

It was a blast. In under four hours, I test drove most all the cars I wanted to;

Chevy Volt

I felt like I was at an amusement park waiting in line for the performance cars. Plus, they gave out unlimited hot dogs for free, and I spotted a high school classmate I used to kind of pick on, who’s now a buff homosexual. There were six closed courses to drive the 66 vehicles, not including the main attraction – the much-hyped Chevrolet Volt.

Here’s the list of the ten cars I test drove, along with some remarks if I felt like it:

  1. Chevrolet Cruze – A cheap sports car. Fun to drive, but noticeably slow. Well worth the estimated $15,500 starting price.
  2. Chevrolet Malibu
  3. Chevrolet Equinox
  4. Toyota RAV4 – Poor suspensions.
  5. Acura MDX – Considered by my sister to be the best practical car on the lot. MSRP starts at a steep $42,500.
  6. Nissan Murano
  7. Chevrolet Suburban
  8. Ford Expedition
  9. Chevrolet Corvette convertible – With a professional driver sitting next to me, I experienced what a true sports car is. What impressed me almost as equally as the acceleration speed was the steering; the feeling that I was in total control of my car.
  10. Chevrolet Volt – Unlike the Toyota Prius, this car is a true electric vehicle if driven less than 50 miles at a time. If you happen to drive no longer than that each time, consider this vehicle. You can charge your car every night for just $2 of electricity in your standard household outlet after you come home from work and theoretically, you would never have to fill up at the gas station. Starts at $41,500 less a $7,500 U.S. federal tax credit.

If you have any questions about any of the cars I drove or anything else, feel free to ask me in the Comments. I drove the heck out of all of them, including an off-road simulation course with the bigger cars.

BJ

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

