Me and My Nine Iron

December 23, 2010

Las Vegas day review


I think I’m allergic to Las Vegas. It could’ve been the rainy weather I accidentally played in when I got back on Monday, but it was likely Vegas. After my last visit four months ago, I had a peculiar and frightening viral infection that the doctor attributed to checking in and out of the air conditioned hotels. Surely, you could come up with something better than that, Doc. Fortunately, this one lasted less than 24 hours, but you better believe I’ll be on high alert when I come back next time.

BOA Steakhouse
http://www.boasteak.com/balboa/index.htm

We wanted to have one nice meal on this trip and after learning we’d have to wait two hours in line to eat at Paris Hotel, which means we’d be having breakfast at 3p, we decided to do our nice meal for lunch. Some of us wanted to indulge in a steak so we walked over to Caesars Palace and ate at the swanky BOA Steakhouse. Steak recently joined omelettes and burgers over $10 among other things on my list I try not to order at a restaurant because it’s overpriced and I could get it elsewhere for cheaper. Although I didn’t too well on that on this trip because I also had a $16 burger the night before. And no, I will not put pasta on that list.

I was excited to try this place though because it was a step up from Ruth’s Chris, the best steakhouse I’ve tried to date. Of course, I ended up being the only person of us five to actually order a dinner steak. Was it better? Hard to say when you’re already on such a high level of grading, but it was tasty. I fell in love from the first time my knife sank into that New York Steak like melted butter.

I got the 40 Day Dry Aged New York Strip ($46) with a Blackened Rub ($1) on the side and Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes ($9), which serves 3-4 people. I was also pleasantly surprised to get an entire cooked garlic with my steak, which was more than enough for me to share with everyone. I was stuffed after my 14 oz. steak, and everything tasted great. Prices vary at the celeb hotspot West Hollywood and Santa Monica locations.

Some reviewable items the others ordered:
Oysters on the Half Shell (Appetizer) – Delish.
Spaghetti & Kobe Meatballs ($16) – Meatballs didn’t taste any different, and the dish was okay. But isn’t that what you get for ordering spaghetti at a steakhouse?

Ambience: Besides the front of the restaurant which is where we sat because it was relatively empty, the bar and the main dining area look real chic and intimate.
Service: One of the best waiters I’ve had in a while, I know this sounds weird, but he made me feel comfortable. He had excellent product knowledge and was willing to take the initiative and go down the list of steaks with how big each was. Although, that wouldn’t be necessary if they just put it on the menus to begin with.
Recommended: For steak lovers or anyone wanting to go to a nice restaurant.

Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Le Reve

Ka, this is the oohing and aahing I was talking about.

Story

Completely confusing until the end put it all together, but you still scratch your head as to the number of things that could’ve actually happened.

Rating: 3 stars out of 5

Aesthetics

With the center stage as a one million-gallon water tank with emerging platforms when necessary, the main spectacle is the commonly used hole in the ceiling, where performers and props come in and out of. It’s hundreds of feet high and suspends performers to pick up divers from the pool and drop them at insane heights.

Rating: 5 stars out of 5

Routine

I had a debate with my friend I saw it with about how appreciable the theatrical dancing portion of the show is. I understand it’s necessary, but I thought this one could’ve been done better. Besides some of those slow moments, I was really amazed at the athleticism and build of the male performers, probably another weird thing to say. Anyway, the whole time I was thinking that they’d probably need to hire just divers, buff gymnasts and synchronized swimmers. Speaking of the latter, can someone tell me if there’s something underwater because these swimmers were often underwater for minutes at a time?

Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Overall

My parents loved it when they went to go see it last year. Me and my friend loved it. If you’ve already watched the major Cirque du Soleil shows or want an excuse to go to Wynn, this show’s worth checking out. No seat is more than 40 feet from the stage and while I thought the first two rows, named Splash Zone, was $30 cheaper than all the other seating because you get wet, it’s really because you can’t get the best view being on the floor with the stage. I didn’t forget about you, Holly.

Rating: 4 stars out of 5

As Notorious B.I.G. once said, “We can rendezvous at the bar around two.” Well, our bar happened to be a little more of a sinful pleasure, if you know what I’m saying. Allow me to say this. Some guys can have sex without having any emotional attachment. I can’t even achieve that after a dance from a stripper. After Googling her, I found out her and her girls were in The Bounty Hunter, a movie I might have to watch now just to spot her. The pictures in that article were less than flattering and while I’m pretty sure I know which one’s her, I’m really hoping that it’s not because I really found her attractive. Plus, it was eight months ago. Maybe, she could’ve gotten a lot hotter in eight months, right?

I could’ve posted T-Pain‘s I’m ‘n’ Luv (Wit a Stripper), but after the pictures, this one more closely resembles my current sentiment.

BJ

4 Comments »

  1. What does that matter? It wasn’t Brooke, but I’ll show you in person out of respect for the stripper.

    Comment by Bryan — December 23, 2010 @ 7:12 pm | Reply

  2. Seriously? You’re not gonna give her name? Was it Brooke Allison?

    Comment by Chris — December 23, 2010 @ 3:31 pm | Reply

  3. Nice try, Chris. Maybe, if you get me drunk next week. Maybe.

    Comment by Bryan — December 23, 2010 @ 1:06 pm | Reply

  4. Uh…what was the name of the stripper?

    Comment by Chris — December 23, 2010 @ 7:55 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

