Me and My Nine Iron

January 27, 2011

Father “protects” his daughter


Last month in Germany, a 47-year-old man was so irate at a 57-year-old man for dating his 17-year-old daughter that he went to his house with a couple of buddies, had them hold him down and severed his testicles with a bread knife. The victim almost bled to death but called police just in time to save his life. The perpetrator, who is not releasing the names of the two friends who helped him, took his testicles, pled guilty to attempted murder and told police, “You said you couldn’t stop him – so I did. I saw it as my duty as a father.”

I bring this up because I found a surprising number of friends who didn’t find the man’s actions heinous like I did. Yeah, a lot of guys will joke that they never want a daughter for that reason exactly, and it’s true no one really knows how they’ll react until they’re put into that situation, but c’mon.

For those curious, the age of consent in Germany is more lenient than in the U.S., where it varies by state. Here’s the breakdown.

  • Anyone having sex with someone under 14 is illegal.
  • A person over 21 having sex with someone under 16 is illegal.

So clearly, while the relationship might be frowned upon, the 17-year-old girl could date whoever she wants. Instead of getting mad at his daughter, maybe, he should castrate his own balls for raising her so poorly that she would choose that kind of a decision.

And the way that he did it, ugh. Okay, so you feel you have to take matters into your own hands because their relationship is protected under the law. How about going to his house with a couple of buddies, roughing him up and threatening him to end the relationship or else? I can tell you I wouldn’t take someone’s underwear off, hold his balls as I cut it and then take them with me. How gay is that?

Well, everyone’s different, but I hope no one I know would do such a thing, especially if they also envy being the 57-year-old guy carrying on the relationship. That’s just hypocritical.

What do you think? Is this father’s action in cutting off a man’s testicles in response to him having consensual sex with his teenage daughter justified or at least a little understandable?

BJ

1 Comment »

  1. It’s hard to empathize with the German dad because you and I aren’t fathers. There’s a father-daughter bond that can’t fully be understood until it’s experienced first hand. But if a 57 year old was dating, say, my 16 year old cousin, I’d be in a blind rage. And even if it is legal, it’s wrong. What the hell does a 16 year old know? Book smart as my cousin is, she’s innocent, naive, has zero life experience, and is easily charmed. For a middle-aged man to date what essentially is still a child, I’d view that as him taking advantage of her. With that great an age difference, it’s barely consensual because 16 year old’s are dumb.

    I don’t know if I’d castrate him though. I’d probably wish it upon him, and in that sense I understand the German father. But I probably don’t have to will power to execute it. I’d probably just beat his ass.

    So my verdict: I can understand the German father’s crime of passion, but it’s still a crime and justice should still be served. And it sounds like the German dad fully realizes and accepts this.

    Comment by Chris Le — January 28, 2011 @ 9:16 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

