Me and My Nine Iron

February 16, 2011

The problem with Christianity

Filed under: For your pleasure — BJ @ 3:00 pm

SUPERIMPOSE: A TRUE STORY

INT. TARGET – DAY
Me and my mom are in different aisles of the personal care section when a WOMAN walks up to my mom.

WOMAN
Do you go to church?

Before my mom can answer…

WOMAN (CONT’D)
I started going to church, and I feel so great.

MY MOM
(irate)
Who goes up to someone in the street and says that?!

The woman runs away, nowhere to be found for my mom to point her out to me.

Update: Taken from a friend’s Facebook post today.

right when I sat down at ktown plaza a person was trying evangelize to me. he sure didn’t think I went to church. after trying to do some q&a with me, his final response was, “wow you have a strong faith with jesus christ. god bless.”

My friend’s Christian, but that’s besides the point. I don’t go up to random people and tell them that I’m a big sports fan. And upon finding out that they’re not, I don’t try to make them into a sports fanatic. Who does that? Why can’t Christians be like every other religion and keep it to themselves? That’s the only reason why Atheists hate Christians and not any other religion. It’s annoying, and they deserve every bit of the ire my mom spit at that woman from everyone they try to proselytize. They’re just like telemarketers but worse because they’ll go around in person, and no one likes telemarketers. Just stop it.

BJ

2 Comments »

  1. Liar. I know you had Matthew 28:19 written in white over black tar underneath your eyes in all your wrestling matches.

    But thanks, I learned something new about something I despise so much. I thought about Mormons too, and maybe, it’s just the unfortunate area that I live in, but man, the amount of Christians and evangelism going on around here from them is just sickening. We get letters in the mail like every week from a local church telling us to come out. We didn’t come out the first 49 times. What makes you think we’re going to come out on your 50th letter?

    Of course, we can go on and on about this, but just that last part should be so off-putting to the sound man, “teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.” To be so subservient? No thank you. You notice how I was able to rip on one sentence of literature you provided me? It’s amazing.

    Comment by Bryan — February 17, 2011 @ 2:41 pm | Reply

  2. Wow. The balls on that lady, haha. I know how your mom feels, believe me: I went to a high school full of people like that woman. But why are they compelled to convert non-believers? Evangelism is part of their duty as Christians:

    “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.” – Matthew 28:19

    (I looked that up.)

    But to be fair, Christians aren’t the only ones who convert. Mormons are famous for it, going door to door on their bicycles handing out pamphlets.

    Comment by Chris Le — February 17, 2011 @ 8:38 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

