Me and My Nine Iron

March 17, 2011

My NCAA tournament bracket

Filed under: For your pleasure — BJ @ 10:40 am
Tags:

It’s that time of the year again. You’re looking at the million dollar perfect bracket.

How my bracket looks

I have two No. 10 seeds going to the Sweet 16 (Penn St., Michigan St.) and only one No. 1 seed (Ohio St.) in the Final Four, who I have taking it all.

How I chose teams

  • I favored Big East schools for their strength of schedule, which was a huge factor in determining a lot of games. Of the eight Big East schools in the tournament, six made the Sweet 16 and two made the Final Four.
  • Like any playoffs, a team on a hot streak can go deep so teams with good conference tournament runs (Connecticut) and late-season surges (St. John’s) were rewarded.
  • (1) Ohio St. and (1) Kansas both have just two losses all year with pretty weak schedules. So why does Kansas lose in the Elite Eight and Ohio St. win it all? Kansas lost against the two hardest teams it faced and played no ranked nonconference teams. Ohio. St. has a convincing win against Florida, and I got to have my Buckeyes in.
  • Teams I don’t believe in: (2) San Diego St., (2) Florida, (3) BYU. I have them all losing in the second round. How is Florida a No. 2 seed when they’re No. 15 in the nation? All year, SDSU was ranked ahead of BYU, went 1-2 against them and get the higher seed. Wrong.
  • I know Notre Dame is a very beatable team, but they’re 12-2 in their last 14, has a winning record against ranked teams while playing a lot of them and has one of my favorite players from this year, Ben Hansbrough.
  • Why is the championship game a blowout? When Notre Dame loses, they lose badly. Five of their six losses have been by at least 12 points. Ohio St. is averaging 91 points in their three wins against ranked teams while winning by at least 18 points.

You can check out my bracket here.

BJ

1 Comment »

  1. i take pleasure in it My NCAA tournament bracket « Me and My Nine Iron now im your rss reader

    Comment by free crack adobe — March 20, 2011 @ 4:26 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

