Me and My Nine Iron

May 18, 2011

Back to the daily grind


I know I’ve been back from my trip for three and a half weeks now, which was pretty awesome. Thanks for asking. I know it’s been over a month since I wrote my last post, the longest break in between posts since I started this waste of time. The truth is I just didn’t feel like it, and as a writer, that happens to me at some point almost every single day. What a tragedy.

Not to worry, though. I haven’t been sans writing in the same amount of time. I could’ve updated you the week I got back on the contest deadlines I was working to get ready for that weekend.

4/30 The Industry Insider Screenwriting Contest

Either a quarterly or biannual contest in partnership with Writers Store and Allan Loeb this period, who in February was named “The Most Prolific Screenwriter in Hollywood” in a feature. Everyone is given the same logline, and you write the first 15 pages based on the given concept. This period’s contest fortunately was a comedy, which Loeb is heavily involved in, and I feel strongly about my entry. (More so, than my original screenplay, but that’s just because I’m trying to write 15 great pages as opposed to 100.)

A group of married men desperate for one last bachelor party invents a long-lost friend who’s about to be wed, but things get out of control when their wives want to meet the groom before the big event.

It screams The Hangover, but who the fuck cares? It’s another golden opportunity to ride the ticket into the business. Ten finalists will be chosen at the end of the month and enter into a 12-week mentoring program to finish the script, where a winner will be chosen.

5/3 Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting

This contest is in association with The Academy Awards. Yes, those Academy Awards. So you can imagine the quality of work being entered (and the volume, as well). Whereas a prestigious annual contest can garner over 1,000 entries, the Nicholl Fellowships this year received 6,700 entries. Good luck, BJ.

I could’ve talked about all that then. I could’ve talked about how I helped two friends move in the past three weekends, which all the dinners they fed me couldn’t possibly erase the enmity I had for them at the time. I could’ve talked about all the other shit I did in the past month. Well, you know what? I will. I’m just going to take it one day at a time like Kobe in the Dallas series.

Re-post from a friend:

BJ

3 Comments »

  1. […] good man, Allan Loeb, who was the guest host of the recent The Industry Insider Screenwriting Contest, wrote this Adam Sandler movie and like his two other comedies (The Switch, The Dilemma), was […]

    Pingback by Movie reviews « Me and My Nine Iron — May 3, 2012 @ 9:55 am | Reply

  2. Haha. No, I didn’t. Should anyone care that the script got leaked? Most people aren’t going to care to read it, and even if you do, what you have in mind will be inferior to what Tarantino makes of it.

    Back-to-back revisionist history movies with one of my favorite actors as the lead? Can’t wait.

    Comment by Bryan — May 20, 2011 @ 12:17 pm | Reply

  3. Did you hear about Tarantino’s latest script leaking? I haven’t read it (most downloads have been deleted) but Django Unchained is supposedly a spaghetti western/revenge flick in which Tarantino’s revisionist history has a righteous slave killing every white person in site. Will Smith has been offered the lead. The script is 164 pages long.

    Comment by Chris Le — May 20, 2011 @ 8:30 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

