Me and My Nine Iron

March 9, 2012

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen review

Filed under: Movie reviews — BJ @ 12:50 pm
Tags:

Seen at a pre-release screening in Glendale:

Get used to the peculiar title. This movie better be a major contender come next Academy Awards, including Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay from Oscar-winner Simon Beaufoy (Slumdog Millionaire). I decided to give this a go based on its high IMDb rating and the lovably Emily Blunt, who’s arguably the perfect ‘wife’ material. Boy, was I glad I went.

This is my favorite movie in the last four years and begs the question why I don’t watch more British movies. Believe it or not, it made me feel even better than Midnight in Paris–my favorite film from last year–and every bit as cinematic and family-friendly as The King’s Speech, the 2010 Best Picture. Just brilliantly made with Ewan McGregor among others, give this witty romantic comedy-drama a shot and you won’t be disappointed.

It was so good I made my parents go to a screening the next day, and my dad really liked it. And it’s near impossible to please my dad.

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen comes out in limited release today.

Rating: 5 stars out of 5

IMDb Rating: 7.2
What it should be: 8.2

Recommend

BJ

P.S. Fuck you, Silent House, for being packed and turning me away at a screening after a grueling drive to Burbank. You better make at least $20 million this weekend.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

