Me and My Nine Iron

April 10, 2012

G.I. Joe: Retaliation review

Filed under: Movie reviews — BJ @ 2:15 pm
Tags:

Seen at a pre-release screening in Orange:

One of the first to see this movie, it was funny to see the computer work (i.e. the planes, tanks and cool mountain fighting scene you see in the trailer) in the early stages of post-production. Rest assured, none of that will influence my review below.

I didn’t see the original G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra, but I’ve heard terrible things about it and it still grossed over $300 million. I don’t expect things to change with this sequel. While it wasn’t bad and kept my attention throughout, it was such a typical big budget blockbuster, which is quickly growing to be my most hated genre. The most disappointing thing about it all was the action, which wasn’t anything spectacular. The swordfighting–which was pretty heavy throughout–was mundane, and the potential to make it an awesome movie was wasted.

The story was good, however, and of course, Dwayne Johnson brought it in headlining an almost entirely new cast. I give Adrianne Palicki the edge over Paula Patton in Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol in terms of hotness and performance, and Jon Chu, of the Step Up movies and Justin Bieber: Never Say Never, takes over directorial duties for this one.

Props to Byung-hun Lee reprising his role as Storm Shadow, and my last gripe is RZA was horribly miscast as Blind Master. Every scene with him, which was thankfully only two or three, was absolutely atrocious and should be removed altogether.

G.I. Joe: Retaliation opens in theaters on June 29.

Rating: 3 stars out of 5

IMDb rating: n/a
What it should be: 6.5

Pass

BJ

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

