Me and My Nine Iron

April 12, 2012

The Raid: Redemption review

Filed under: Movie reviews — BJ @ 10:41 am
Tags:

I’ve only seen print ads for this movie, and boy, am I glad I found it. Hailed as one of the best action movies in years by numerous critics and already a Top 20 action movie all-time per IMDb, I couldn’t agree more. You simply don’t get the hand-to-hand combat in American movies, and no, Jason Statham‘s hardly qualifies. Oh yeah, this is an Indonesian film.

Directed by a Welsh who makes movies on the Indonesian martial art of Silat, it has a succinct setup of only a couple minutes before it gets right into non-stop action. Tons of cool kills and lengthy fight scenes – all in an apartment building. Roger Ebert should be shot for giving this one star, and he lost all credibility if he even had any left.

Mike Shinoda of Linkin Park co-wrote the score for the American theaters, which had 55 minutes of instrumentals. They’re looking to make a trilogy out of this, but disappointingly, an American remake as well.

Rating: 5 stars out of 5

IMDb rating: 8.4
What it should be: 8.4

Recommend

BJ

2 Comments »

  1. 1) Is it a bad thing if it’s like a video game? Only in the aspect of going up actual levels comparable to video game levels; Act of Valor is way more video gamey with its first person shooter and Red Dot Sight a la Call of Duty.

    2) If you’re referring to the bad guys shooting like retards, that happens all the time in action movies; I think I’m the only one who felt the exact same way about how no one was able to hit Liam Neeson in the boat scene in Taken. Theoretically, and I don’t know how much I believe this myself, low-life bangers have no shot against skilled shooters, and it didn’t play out any differently than any other movie.
    If you’re referring to the officers’ full auto, I didn’t even notice it.

    I don’t think it tried to take itself seriously, as you can tell by how quickly they get in the van and how little backstory there is (a minute or two?). I think that makes it an easier watch, especially if you’re just looking for mindless action. Just pure entertainment, which is why I rated it so high. And I absolutely love hand-to-hand combat dating from the Jackie Chan days.

    Comment by Bryan — July 26, 2012 @ 10:04 am | Reply

  2. So I finally watched this last night and was thoroughly entertained by the really brutal bone cracking and the cool knife hits. Beyond that, it’s probably gonna go in the back of the shelf of my archive of movies. I was super surprised at just how shallow the actual story was and wished there was more scope to it..

    I held off on reading Roger Ebert’s review after you damned it and waited to finish watching this movie as well. I’m gonna incur your full wrath of me being the contrarian here, but I agree with a lot of his review. This film did play out like a videogame and I found myself thoroughly frustrated with everyone shooting like retards a’la Call of Duty. Also maybe because I watched Act of Valor before this (another film that I won’t be rushing to see again in its entirety anytime soon, if EVER. Only the action sequences.) I didn’t like how sloppy all the tacticool stuff was (LOLOL FULL AUTO ALWAYS). Also would it have killed the director to ghettorig a steadycam setup?

    It’s a lot like watching Final Destination, except there’s even less plot. Lots of cool, easy to digest kill shots, stabs, and hits, but I won’t be yearning to watch it from start-to-finish again anytime soon.

    Comment by Ja-Hon Suh — July 25, 2012 @ 2:25 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

