Me and My Nine Iron

April 18, 2012

The Five-Year Engagement review

Filed under: Movie reviews — BJ @ 11:40 am
Tags:

Seen at a pre-release screening in Los Angeles:

For full disclosure, I find it impossible to be impartial because of my love for Jason Segel‘s creative work so I honestly can’t tell if I’m being overly critical of the not-so-funny parts or if they truly stalled the film a bit. From the team that brought us Forgetting Sarah Marshall, I’d say this one is not as good but still holds its own. A lot of similar scenes as FSM, naturally, as well as Bridesmaids, which means plenty of laughs and smiles throughout.

Also with a running time of about two hours, I felt like director Nicholas Stoller lost his comedic timing in when to cut away from a scene. Plus, a lot of characters somewhat bothered me; they really made a point to make so many characters weird. Lastly, all of Emily Blunt‘s work scenes were a bit of a drag. I know they were vital to their relationship, but I was kind of bummed every time we had to re-visit this side of the story. So not laugh-out-loud throughout like the other two, but another quality Judd Apatow film with a heartfelt story.

Even though 21 Jump Street is the better comedy, I can’t help but lean towards FYE if I were to watch one again due to the lovable cast and the extended story arc similar to Bridesmaids. I can also appreciate how Segel manages to make a comedy appealing to both sexes, which is a tough juggling act. One of my most anticipated comedies of the year, I had a great time, but hoping that This is 40 is better.

Looks like Segel and Stoller, who co-produced The Muppets, will start working on a Muppets sequel.

The Five-Year Engagement opens in theaters on April 27.

Rating: 5 stars out of 5

IMDb rating: n/a
What it should be: 7.0

Recommend

BJ

2 Comments »

  1. […] From the team that brought us Forgetting Sarah Marshall, I’d say this one is not as good but still holds its own. A lot of similar scenes as FSM, naturally, as well as Bridesmaids […] I had a great time, but hoping that This is 40 is better. – BJ, Me and My Nine Iron […]

    Pingback by News: The Conversation: What Are People Saying About ‘The Five-Year Engagement’? | Delivering news 24/7/365 — April 20, 2012 @ 3:54 am | Reply

  2. […] as well as Bridesmaids […] I had a great time, but hoping that This is 40 is better. – BJ, Me and My Nine IronIt was wonderful! Jason Segel, Emily Blunt , whole cast and production was superb! – Steve […]

    Pingback by The Conversation: What Are People Saying About ‘The Five-Year Engagement’? — April 20, 2012 @ 2:31 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

