Me and My Nine Iron

April 25, 2012

Bruxie review

Filed under: Food reviews — BJ @ 9:57 am
Tags:

I first heard of this place last year, an outdoor stand that sells everything in a Belgium waffle (in lieu of bread) next to Chapman University. I just went along with friends who wanted to try it out but thought it more a novelty than anything because I’m not crazy about American breakfast foods and the idea of a waffle sandwich.

I’ve been to this place four times now, including the recently-opened second location in downtown Brea. Both places are always poppin’ with college-age kids, and it’s a cool little fast food joint to have in the area.

Here are all the items that I’ve tried, in order of both visits and rank:

Buttermilk Fried Chicken & Waffle ($6.95) – their classic. A perfect, crispy chicken.
Hot Pastrami Bruxie ($7.95) – just as good as the chicken, and probably the heartiest.
Bacon, Egg & Cheddar ($6.50) – good but too mundane and light.
Green Eggs & Ham ($6.95) – the green coming from the arugula pesto. Tasty, but I wouldn’t recommend getting it over any of the other items on this list.

Surprisingly, I’ve had several friends not like the place. One said the rosemary on the fried chicken was overpowering, and the other found the waffle too sweet, which Bruxie prides its waffle on not being – and both problems I never had. I’ll write them off as having sensitive taste buds, which they probably wouldn’t deny.

I will say that the portion may be a little light so for over $7 to only leave you not feeling hungry, it’s kind of a pretentious fast food option. I’ll definitely be coming back though to try the rest from the Savory section.

BJ

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

