Me and My Nine Iron

May 12, 2012

I Wish review

Filed under: Food reviews,Movie reviews — BJ @ 2:39 pm
Tags: ,

Seen at a pre-release screening in Los Angeles:

My second foreign film of the year was also my first visit to USC’s School of Cinematic Art. I really dug the environment on Monday evening, as one group of students were conducting a table read outside and others were working on their respective projects. Inside the George Lucas Building, they have about four theaters and an exhibit for The Avengers, displaying all of the superheroes’ costumes and weapons. (The Thor hammer is noticeably awesome.) Inside the theater is a nice, intimate setting with about 100 seats arranged in the format of a lecture hall.

There were a lot of similarities to Jeff, Who Lives at Home, and overall, it was a little better with a little more substance in the second act. Essentially a journey to find the true meaning of life, the real-life brothers’ emotions and innocent behavior are captured wonderfully by the Japanese filmmaker, Hirokazu Koreeda. It was a great story and had an ending I was sad at the protagonist for making but understood why he made it like in Midnight in Paris.

The movie’s over two hours long and had entire scenes, albeit each under a minute long, that were completely pointless other than to show the kids some more. Other than that, it’s a nice PG-film that you can find peace with and reminisce over.

I Wish opened in limited release Friday.

Rating: 4 stars out of 5

IMDb rating: 7.8
What it should be: 7.3

Consider

Afterwards, I went to grab a burger at In-N-Out, and I write this now because the always-reliable cheeseburger was so terribly bad. Unfortunately, I was home when I opened up my bag because that deserved an “Are you kidding me? I want a new burger now.”

To focus on the main problem, the fresh vegetables they’re known for couldn’t have been further from the truth. The tomato had that dry whiteness in the middle, and the lettuce was so old, it lost its bright greenness. Whoever put that burger together truly couldn’t have cared less about what they were serving because if an In-N-Out executive saw my burger, they would’ve been damn embarrassed.

What an awful $5 spent at a no longer dependable burger joint. The best burger in the world? Not even in the area with burgers like these.

BJ

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

