Me and My Nine Iron

June 26, 2012

Prometheus review

Filed under: Movie reviews — BJ @ 12:01 am
Tags:

The fifth film in the Alien franchise, and the prequel to Alien (1979) opened to rave reviews, and much like The Avengers, everyone thought it was awesome. For me, just like The Avengers, I thought it was a decent big-budget flick that wasn’t anything special.

I will admit science fiction isn’t my most favorite genre, and the specific aliens in this franchise are highly unappealing to me. That and the plot holes/unanswered questions made this slow-moving movie barely of interest and had me falling asleep in the third act, when the most was going on.

I do hope Michael Fassbender gets recognition for his creepy portrayal of the android in both his mannerisms and speech. Truly impressive. On the other hand, Noomi Rapace (the original Millenium trilogy), who has been getting a lot of buzz, kept my interest as the protagonist but was hardly the standout star people had been talking her up to be.

An okay movie I would only recommend to fans of the Alien franchise or big budget blockbuster flicks. I would imagine the sequel to Prometheus would be in the works following the box-office success.

Rating: 3 stars out of 5

IMDb rating: 7.6
What it should be: 7.1

Consider

BJ

1 Comment »

  1. Michael Fassbender might be the most talented actor in Hollywood.

    Comment by Chris Le — June 27, 2012 @ 9:24 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

